Skulz word game – build the board

skulz-scrabble (pdf)

Numeracy into literacy

I made this alphabet resourceem0-2 to reinforce spelling in a Year 8 unit on digital media.

I randomly distributed the letters to the Year 8s and gave them a vocabulary list. Their job was to mingle amongst themselves until they could spell a word on the list.

More recently, my Year 7 and 9 students played more traditional Scrabble-like games on desks. However, as the board expands as needed using the emoticons as spaces, it might be easier to play this on the floor.

I introduce the concept of letter values by asking students to add up the value of their own names using the table provided.

Download Skulz alphabet

zed

Published by

yallamas

Writer, teacher, content producer - I play with ideas. Teaching full time (2016) ... today I sing, tomorrow I will sing, yesterday I sang, the song was sung.

Leave a Reply

